Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Tuesday, 14 January 2020

Hug Cornwell The Haymarket Basingstoke 26th November 2019

Here's both set from Hugh's winter leg of the 'Monster' tour, from Basingstoke. Many thanks for the share of this gig to the site.... it's much appreciated as always!



First Set:
01. Pure Evel
02. La Grande Dame
03. I Want One Of Those
04. Beat Of My Heart
05. Monster
06. Land of a Thousand Kisses
07. Under Her Spell
08. Irate Caterpillar
09. The Most Beautiful Girl In Hollywood
10. Bilko
11. Bad Vibrations
12. Attack of the Major Sevens
13. Duce Coochie Man

Second Set:
01. Strange Little Girl
02. Nice 'n' Sleazy
03. Duchess
04. Sweden (All Quiet on the Eastern Front)
05. Always the Sun
06. I Feel Like a Wog
07. Goodbye Toulouse
08. No Mercy
09. Bring On The Nubiles
10. Hanging Around
11. Straighten Out
12. Skin Deep

Band Line Up:
Hugh Cornwell - Vocals, Guitar
Pat Hughes - Vocals, Bass Guitar
Windsor McGilvray - Vocals, Drums


  1. many thanks for this

  2. Take it this is mine? Thanks for the artwork :-)

  3. Did you record any other Hugh/Stranglers shows?

  4. The second last song on the Stranglers set is not Straighten Out it's Nuclear Device...!!