Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 26 January 2020

999 Haus Der Jugend Dusseldorf 4th November 1994

I have been looking for a 999 recording from the mid '90's for some time now and thanks to a friend in Germany I now have one. So what's the thing about 999 in the mid-90's then you may ask. Well, amongst other things I had stopped following The Stranglers at that point as patience had been stretched too far. 999 were on the doorstep and filled that Stranglers-shaped hole! But it wasn't just that, 1994 saw the release of their first new material since 1985's 'Face to Face' album. The new offering 'You Us It' was a return to the rawer sound of the first '999' album and far more aligned with their live set.

At the time, the band were playing regular sets at The Swan pub in Fulham (apparently Pablo's local) and some great nights were to be had down there. This excellent recording from Dusseldorf's Haus Der Jugend features no less that five tracks from the new album.



01. Black Flowers For The Bride
02. Inside Out
03. Hit Me
04. Feeling Alright With The Crew
05. (There Is No Glory In) Mary's Story
06. Titanic Reaction
07. Crazy Crazy Crazy
08. Boys In The Gang
09. White Light
10. Lil' Red Riding Hood
11. Chicane Destination
12. Don't You Know I Need You?
13. Let's Face It
14. Biggest  Prize In Sport
15. Absolution
16. Homicide (Cut)
17. My Street Stinks
18. I'm Alive
19. English Wipeout
20. Boiler

No comments:

Post a Comment