Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Tuesday, 26 July 2016

Ruts DC Vienne Punk Festival France 23rd July 2016

Hot off the press this one, and it is hot. An excellent set from Ruts DC at last weekend's 'Know The Future' Punk Festival in Vienne, France. As the the 'Music Must Destroy' album comes on apace, so the set expands with the new material. This is a great sounding set and a real good taster for the new album. My thanks to lolive for the share. Much appreciated!

Please retain this in a lossless format (but convert to MP3 for personal use by all means).



Take a look at the progress of the new album here:

Saturday, 23 July 2016

The Electric Circus Manchester 5th June 1977

Prompted by Owen's post of Kevin Cummings' photographs from this gig on the Stranglers memorabilia facebook page (, here's the gig itself. But beware, as they say in the finest Swiss Finishing Schools, 'It's as rough as a badgers arse!'



01. Grip
02. Sometimes
03. I Feel Like A Wog
04. Dagenham Dave
05. School Mam
06. Peasant In The Big Shitty
07. Peaches
08. No More Heroes
09. Hanging Around
10. Straighten Out
11. London Lady
12. Down In The Sewer
13. Ugly
14. Something Better Change

Adam Ant Shepherds Bush Empire 22nd March 1995

Following on from my Dave Barbarossa plug, I thought that I would put this up. In 1995 Adam announced a tour to promote his then new album 'Wonderful', these were the first shows in the UK for some considerable time. I don't think that I would be courting controversy if I said that at this time Adam was a little flaky. After a handful of dates, the remainder of the tour was cancelled with Adam citing exhaustion as the reason. I went to one of the Shepherds Bush dates, could have been this one or the one on the following night, I don't recall and I can't locate the ticket stub.

This excellent quality recording must have come from Dime as the set is not complete with live those tracks that appeared as part of the 'Gotta Be A Sin' CD singles are cut (in accordance with Dime policy). It's a shame as among those tracks are some of the best that the original Ants recorded. The omitted tracks are:

Beat My Guest
Red Scab
Desperate But Not Serious
Car Trouble

Nevertheless, on the surviving set there are some early classics such as Kick! Christian D'ior and Never Trust A Man (With Egg On His Face) plus a handful of Kings tracks.


01. Wonderful
02. Alien
03. Vive Le Rock
04. Never Trust A Man (With Egg On His Face)
05. Gotta Be A Sin
06. Beautiful Dream
07. Room At The Top
08. Man Called Marco
09. Kings Of The Wild Frontier

01. Stand & Deliver
02. Vampires
03. Ants Invasion
04. Killer In The Home
05. Ant Music
06. Audience
07. Goody Two Shoes
08. Kick!
09. Band Introduction
10. Christian D'ior
11.20th Century Boy

Drum With Dave Barbarossa

If there are any wannabe Keith Moon's out there who feel that their efforts on the skins could do with a boost from someone who really knows what they are doing. Dave Barbarossa's CV is presented on his flyer, but for me it's Dave's tenure in the original Ants that counts.

I saw Dave play once with Adam at the Shepherd's Bush Empire in 1995. Adam, opting for the later Ants trade mark of two drummers, had Ruffy (The Ruts, Ruts DC, plus a list of bands and artists as long as your arm) occupy the other drum stool and together they made a hell of a noise.

Sunday, 17 July 2016

The Vapors 4th November 2016

I have to admit that I was wavering on this one, but on Friday I succumbed and got myself a ticket to see The Vapors at Dingwalls in November. 'Turning Japanese' was the first single that I bought from W.H. Smiths in Burgess Hill, Sussex ('Whispering Grass' was technically the first but as that was bought for me I feel happy to gloss over that one!). I have told Owen Carne that if this turns out to be rubbish he's for it!

We shall see.

02 Academy Manchester 26th March 2016

Next on the list, Manchester. Thanks for the share!


01. Intro
02. Tank
03. Nice 'n' Sleazy
04. Outside Tokyo
05. Hey! (Rise of the Robots)
06. Sweden (All Quiet on the Eastern Front)
07. Toiler on the Sea
08. Curfew
09. Threatened
10. In the Shadows
11. Do You Wanna
12. Death and Night and Blood (Yukio)
13. Enough Time
14. (Get a) Grip (On Yourself)
15. Walk on By
16. Norfolk Coast
17. Lost Control
18. Princess of the Streets
19. Always the Sun
20. Freedom is Insane
21. Burning Up Time
22. Nuclear Device (The Wizard of Aus)
23. 5 Minutes
24. Relentless
25. I Feel Like a Wog
26. Something Better Change
27. Golden Brown
28. Peaches
29. Hanging Around
30. Go Buddy Go
31. No More Heroes
32. Outro

Top Secret No. 7 September 1987

,,,,,, and another one, here.