Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Friday 15 May 2020

Ruts DC The Opera House Rebellion Festival 3rd August 2019

In these dark and dangerous times that we are living through right now, many musicians with no venues to play are being resourceful and turning the cameras on themselves. Ruts DC are no exception. They have been hosting weekly episodes of 'Ruts TV' that have thus far featured a mix of Ruts and Ruts DC archive footage along with a bit of chat about the plans for the band as well as how their solitary days are being filled.

In this weeks installment Segs rued the fact that under different circumstances the band would have been winding up their first acoustic tour (now rescheduled to take place in August...... which may or may not prove to be the case sadly). He also mentioned the occasion last year when they played another acoustic set in the rather magnificent Opera House at The Rebellion Festival, which is uploaded for you good people here. Cheers Chatts99.

Thanks also goes to the Ruts chaps for their heartfelt tribute to the man with a massive swelling organ, Mr Greenfield!



01. Tuning
02. Something That I Said
03. West One (Shine On Me)
04. Soft City Lights
05. Music Must Destroy
06. Walk Or Run
07. Golden Boy
08. Psychic Attack
09. Staring At The Rudeboys
10. In A Rut
11. Babylon’s Burning

No comments:

Post a Comment