Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Saturday 26 November 2016

Another Shameless Plug!

I thought that I would give this another go. For the last 18 months I have occasionally amused myself by creating linoprint portraits of people that have inspired or interested me. The lino blocks are hand carved and then individually printed in a completely manual process.

They are available on Etsy and can be accessed via the Etsy panel on the right hand side of this site. Take a look if you have the inclination (can you tell I work in a Scientific Department and not in a Sales Department!)



Saturday 12 November 2016

Cliffs Pavillion Southend 11th November 2008

Here's one from the Forty Two Forty tour of 2008.


01. (Get A) Grip (On Yourself)
02. Five Minutes
03. Peaches
04. Nice ‘N’ Sleazy
05. Spectre Of Love
06. Skin Deep
07. No Mercy
08. Always The Sun
09. Strange Little Girl
10. Golden Brown
11. The Raven
12. Thrown Away

01. Walk On By
02. Hanging Around
03. Straighten Out
04. Big Thing Coming
05. All Day And All Of The Night
06. Duchess
07. Tank
08. Nuclear Device
09. Something Better Change
10. No More Heroes