Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Monday 16 November 2020

The Lurkers 100 Club London 14th September 1982

Here are The Lurkers in one of their many incarnations. By 1982, singer Howard Wall had departed and been replaced by Marc Fincham who teamed up with stalwarts, Pete Stride, Esso and Nigel Moore for a 1982 album release 'This Dirty Town'. The reunion was however short lived, as the band parted company once again in 1984.

01. I'm On Heat
02. This Dirty Town
03. The Rain
04. Our House
05. Freak Show
06. Wolf At The Door
07. Drag You Out
08. Ain't Got A Clue
09. Heroin (It's All Over)
10. Crowd
11. Pills
12. Shadow
13. I'm On Heat

A Stride, Moore and Esso version of the band are back this year with a new album on Damaged Goods Records called Sex Crazy. How this version sits with Arturo's Lurkers I dunno and I'm no going to venture there.

The Lurkers in the studio 2020
Nigel Moore, Pete Stride and Esso.


  1. I went to this show as well as the Jam gig - I remember Pete Stride's 'I'm On Heat once again' comment in the encore. A good raucous evening - The Rain is actually called The Ring. I thought this line up made some excellent records, it's a shame they didn't get an album out...

  2. But the album was released as 'This Dirty Town'.

  3. That's all the singles compiled I think? They broke up as they started recording a 'proper' album which would have included The Ring, Our House etc... Sex Crazy is really good by the way - you've got to love The Lurkers haven't you?