Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 10 July 2011

Philipshalle Dusseldorf 21st December 1984

So we reach the dread year of 1984. Big Brother may have been watching you but he sure as hell wasn't watching the Stranglers this year unless he was in the vicinity of the Philipshalle in Dusseldorf the week before Christmas because this was the bands only appearance of the year. A good quality short set (the event was part of a festival hence a 9 song performance). Short maybe, but notable for the German translation of the Aural Sculpture Manifesto and a fair smattering of new songs that would hit the road in the early spring of 1985 on The Aural Sculpture tour.

MP3 (as received):

  1. Aural Sculpture (German Version)
  2. Midnight Summer Dream/European Female
  3. Ships That Pass In The Night
  4. Let Me Down Easy
  5. Punch And Judy
  6. Peaches
  7. Skin Deep
  8. No Mercy
  9. Uptown
  10. The Raven


  1. Great stuff Adrian! The wonders of modern technology eh!!! How did we ever survive with just a pen and some paper!!!

  2. Great to see the bootleg Stranglers being represented online...
    Great tunes, great blog...