Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Monday, 15 February 2021

Mountain Studio Demos March 1976


Here is another short selection of early demos when the band are really still trying to find 'their' distinct  sound. In among this fine quartet is the 'Transylvanian Mix' of 'Tomorrow Was (The Hereafter)' with JJ taking the vocal lead.... or is that Bobby (Boris) Burnel!


01. Peaches
02. Down In The Sewer
03. Bitching
04. Tomorrow Was (The Hereafter)

No comments:

Post a Comment