Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 5 July 2020

5 Years of Anarchy Chaos and Destruction The Damned The Lyceum London 5th July 1981

Thanks to the Second Time Around fansite for this anniversary gig. 39 years ago tonight and The Damned were marking the remarkable feat of being a band for five years. Strictly speaking this wasn't actually the case given the bands turbulent early years but you get the point. No members of the were anticipating such longevity given that the 'flash in the pan' punk fad was expected to last six months at best (and some say it did!). The fact that at a Damned gig today, you may well see T-shirts bearing the legend '40 years of Anarchy Chaos and Destruction' straining across the guts of aging punks is altogether another story!

Sound on this one is a little rough.... in keeping with the band, but it remains a classic gig from an irrepressible quartet!

Here's a review of the gig that appeared in the 25th July 1981 issue of Record Mirror. A favourable review although poor old Segs gets it in the neck again about his vocal abilities (always unfair I though even given the power of Malcolm's delivery).

MP3 (as received):

01. Intro
02. I Fall
03. Wait For The Blackout
04. Lively Arts
05. I Just Can’t Be Happy Today
06. Plan 9 Channel 7
07. Smash It Up Parts 1 & 2
08. Shut Up You Tossers
09. Dr Jeckyl And Mr Hyde
10. Drinking About My Baby
11. Melody Lee
12. D’Ya Want Yer Money Back
13. Love Song
14. Neat Neat Neat
15. New Rose
16. Ballroom Blitz
17. I’m A Wanker
18. In A Rut
19. Love Song

No comments:

Post a Comment