Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday 4 October 2020

20 From '82 (15) Pete Shelley Ripley's Music Hall Philadelphia 26th May 1982


Out of the burnt out wreckage of Buzzcocks, Pete Shelley donned a white whistle, neatly parted his hair and reinvented himself as an early pioneer of dance music. Despite the audible change in direction, many of the central themes of Shelley's writing stayed on track. 

I saw a Buzzcock-less Pete once (supporting The Damned at their 10th Anniversary bash) when he was briefly in an outfit called Zip who had recently released a great album called 'Heaven & The Sea', another electro-pop effort but rather less stark than his first album. 'Homosapien', material from which makes up much of this Philadelphia set.

What did the critics make of this new direction? I found one review that was less than favourable. Strangely, the review makes no reference to the title track 'Homosapien', a late Buzzcocks' demo, polished up and released as Shelley's first solo single. The single was a hit in Australia, Canada and New Zealand, but was banned by the BBC as a result of its overt gay sexual message, something that Shelley denied.

Record Mirror
16th January 1982



01. Homosapien
02. Pusher Man
03. Guess I Must’ve Been In Love With Myself
04. I Generate A Feeling
05. Qu’est-Ce Que C’est Que Ça
06. Yesterday’s Not Here
07. I Don’t Know What It Is
08. Witness The Change
09. Hollow Inside
10. Something’s Gone Wrong Again


  1. Don`t seem to be able to play this
    anybody having same problem ? or have I just had a bad download

  2. Thank you for all your replies
    really helped a lot

  3. i can't play it either.