Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 14 April 2013

20 From '83 (3) Jah Wobble's Invaders of the Heart Pandora's Music Box Festival Rotterdam 3rd September 1983

Britain has produced some of the finest, most inventive bass players in popular music, JJ Burnel (of course), The Ox, Norman Watt-Roy and the man who goes by the name of Jah Wobble. By 1983 his PiL days were behind him and he was playing as the Invaders of the Heart.

Here's a great quality recording provided by Dave Sez (many thanks) that showcases Wobble's unique playing style. Outside of PiL I have to plead ignorance to a large degree of his work, but I'm sure Dave can elaborate. Also included as part of the original recording are some tracks from an earlier gig at Vera, Groningen, again in the Netherlands on 21st November 1982.


Line up: Jah Wobble – vocals & bass; Dave (Animal) Maltby – guitar; Annie Whitehead – trombone, Ollie Marland – keyboards, Cliff Venner – drums, Neville Murray – percussion

01 Introduction (1982) [0:12]
02 Hollywood 1 (1982) [7:00]
03 Jam 2 (1982) [7:41]
04 Jam 3 (1982) [8:24]
05 Jam 4 (1982) [6:17]
06 Fading (1982) [4:03]
07 Hollywood 2 (1982) [9:08]

Line up: Jah Wobble – vocals & bass; Dave (Animal) Maltby – guitar; Annie Whitehead – trombone, Ollie Marland – keyboards, Lee Partis – drums, Neville Murray – percussion

08 Invaders (1983) [5:15]
09 Hollywood 2 (1983) [5:49]
10 Snake Charmer (1983) [4:40]
11 Brazil (1983) [4:51]
12 How Much Are They (1992) [8:10]


  1. There's a nice recent Wobble over here:

    Cheers, Dave Sez.

  2. More Annie Whitehead (not doing dub but tributes to Robert Wyatt and Frank Zappa) here:

    Cheers, Dave Sez.