Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Wednesday, 25 March 2020

Dead Kennedys Pine Street Theatre Portland Oregon 16th October 1984

So now we arrive at 1984, the year forever associated with Big Brother, the systematic destruction of free will all of that uplifting Orwellian stuff.... right up the Dead Kennedys street!Long-standing art collaborator, Winston Smith, even took his name from the book's anti-hero.

Quite some time had passed since the band's last album, 'Plastic Surgery Disaters' so throughout 1984 they were in a position to showcase new, as yet unrecorded, material at their gigs. In the gig that follows, they are playing six songs from the album that would be 'Frankenchrist' a full year before the album was released.

I note that this gig I have posted before, some years ago, but this could be an upgrade, I dunno. But it is of excellent quality and well worth a listen. For me this is the epitome of a Kennedys gig, with Jello in full-flow between numbers. The man can talk, it's no wonder that after the bands demise he found a welcoming home on the spoken word circuit.


01. Intro
02. Soup Is Good Food
03. Hellnation
04. Chat
05. This Could Be Anywhere (This Could Be Everywhere)
06. Chat
07. When You Get Drafted
08. Terminal Preppie
09. MTV Get Off the Air
10. A Child and His Lawnmower
11. Chat
12. Jock-o-Rama
13. Moral Majority
14. Chat
15. Kill the Poor
16. Chat
17. Macho Insecurity
18. Chat
19. Police Truck
20. Chat
21. Goons of Hazard
22. California Uber Alles
23. Break

01. Chat
02. Government Flu
03. Bleed for Me
04. Chat
05. Short Songs
06. Nazi Punks Fuck Off

No comments:

Post a Comment