Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Tuesday 24 March 2020

Dead Kennedys The Ace Brixton London 2nd December 1982

Something of a classic this one. In 1983 Channel 4 (the new kid on the block as far as TV channels in the UK were concerned) aired a programme entitled 'Whatever You Didn't Get', a youth magazine programme that featured live music from the Ace in Brixton. The name was a reference to the previous year's series 'Whatever You Want'. Makes sense really.

One of the bands to appear on the series were Dead Kennedys. As I recall four songs from the gig were aired although the full film of the show is in circulation (and can also be found on YouTube).

Here's a better quality clip from the broadcast.

'Bleed For Me'/'Holiday In Cambodia'
The Ace, Brixton 2nd December 1982

Footnote: The video notes suggest that this was actually broadcast as part of the earlier 'Whatever You Want' series on 6th December 1982.

The audio is something rather special. The second album 'Plastic Surgery Disasters' was in the can and due for imminent release at the time of The Ace gig. As such the set is heavy on the new material, but given the quality of that album, who's to moan about that.



01. Saturday Night Holocaust
02. Kepone Factory
03. Insight
04. Life Sentence
05. Trust Your Mechanic
06. Moral Majority
07. I Am the Owl
08. Halloween
09. Police Truck
10. Riot
11. Bleed for Me
12.Holiday in Cambodia
13. Nazi Punks Fuck Off
14. Chemical Warfare
15. Stealing People's Mail
16. We've Got a Bigger Problem Now
17. Let's Lynch the Landlord
18. Kill the Poor

No comments:

Post a Comment