Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 11 October 2015

Joy Division Paradiso Amsterdam 11th January 1980

Doin' the Ian Curtis
Joy Division

I had friends in the late '80's who were mad for Joy Division, but I never really got it. Admittedly my exposure to the band had at that time been limited to 'Love Will Tear Us Apart' and the footage of 'Shadowplay' from a rehash of Granada's 'So It Goes' put together to mark the 10th anniversary of punk in 1986 (the latter was most noted by me for Ian Curtis' unique dance moves). 

Years later I watched the desperately bleak 'Control' and as is often the way with music films a 90 minute exposure to the band in the soundtrack sticks with you like a dozen ear worms..... and then I got it. I also got the 'Heart and Soul' box set the following week!

Highly recommended!

Anyway, earlier I posted the 'Too Much Fighting On The Dancefloor' documentary in which bass player Peter Hook reflects on the violence at Joy Division gigs and that prompted me to put this one up, apparently one of the best live recordings on the band.

MP3 (as received):

01. Passover
02. Wilderness
03. Digital
04. Day Of The Lords
05. Insight
06. New Dawn Fades
07. Disorder
08. Transmission
09. Love Will Tear Us Apart
10. These Days
11. A Means To An End
12. 24 Hours
13. Shadowplay
14. She's Lost Control
15. Atrocity Exhibition
16. Atmosphere
17. Interzone

1 comment:

  1. Hi i don`t know which version this is, but in my opinion the best ever version is available in lossles over at