Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 21 June 2015

Gary Numan Oxford Academy 13th March 2008 - Replicas Revisited

With the brilliant punk rock outfit Tubeway Army reinvented with new musicians and a completely new sound by virtue of a chance encounter with a hired synthesizer in Cambridge Studios, Gary Numan started to change the post punk musical landscape. Setting his earlier sci-fi tinged writings to music with 'Replicas' he took the listener into the dark and sinister, dystopian place within his imagination. This was a world occupied by thought police, AI prostitutes and rapists, somewhere between where Orwell's '1984' and Dick's 'Bladerunner' (a film adaptation of the novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?) meet.



01. Replicas
02. Me! I Disconnect From You
03. Do You Need The Service?
04. Praying To The Aliens
05. We Have A Technical
06. I Nearly Married A Human
07. Down In The Park
08. The Crazies

01. When The Machines Rock
02. Only A Downstat
03. The Machman
04. It Must Have Been Years
05. We Are So Fragile
06. You Are In My Vision
07. Are 'Friends' Electric?
08. Band Offstage
09. Cars
10. Everyday I Die
11. A Prayer For The Unborn

Rrussel Bell and Billy Currie soundcheck in Guildford
The Touring Principle 1979

No comments:

Post a Comment