Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday 21 June 2015

Gary Numan The Junction Cambridge 1st December 2009 - 'The Pleasure Principle Revisited

Numan with Paul Gardiner backdrop
December 2009

Here Gary Numan faithfully reproduces his 1979 masterpiece, 'The Pleasure Principle'. Not as dark as its predecessor, the album took electronic music to a new height. There is not a duff track on the album, with precise instrumentation that perfectly complements the soaring keyboards that dominate the songs. Ever the purist, Numan made the decision to abandon guitar on this album, a decision that he has since stated was a mistake, but in my opinion the combination of bass, drums and keyboards makes for a complete sound. There is no need, or space for guitar on 'The Pleasure Principle'.



 01. Random
 02. Airlane
 03. Metal
 04. Complex
 05. Films
 06. M.E.
 07. Tracks
 08. Observer
 09. Conversation
 10. Cars
 11. Engineers
 12. Asylum

 01. The Fall
 02. Pure
 03. Down In The Park
 04. Haunted
 05. Halo
 06. Jagged
 07. Are 'Friends' Electric?
 08. Encore Break
 09. We Are So Fragile
 10. A Prayer For The Unborn

The Touring Principle set

No comments:

Post a Comment