Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 4 September 2011

Liverpool Philharmonic 30th October 1999

Here's a long set from 1999's Hits & Heroes tour. Interesting for the inclusion of live rarities such as 'Pin Up' and 'Ice Queen'.



1. Duchess
2. (Get A) Grip (On Yourself)
3. Who Wants The World
4. Coup De Grace
5. Pin Up
6. Skin Deep
7. Threatened
8. Ice Queen
9. Princess Of The Street
10. The Raven
11. Genetix

1. Always The Sun
2. Goodbye Toulouse
3. Nuclear Device
4. Two Sunspots
5. Burning Up Time
6. Tank
7. Something Better Change
8. Five Minutes
9. Golden Brown
10. Valley Of The Birds
11. Thrown Away
12. Hanging Around
13. No More Heroes.


  1. Thanks, can you upload the 19-track "Before They Were Famous" from 1974 here? I saw it on your list.

  2. Any chance of a new link for this and some other 90's shows (I'm a masochist!) thanks

  3. a new link please pretty please

  4. Thanksd for this, great recording!