Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 13 October 2019

Nagoyashi Kokaido, Nagoya 16th February 1979 Full Set

The Stranglers in Japan
February 1979

Ok, so now we are getting back to normality. One upside of the IT issue was that it made me get hold of the full set of this great pre-Raven Japanese gig from Nagoya. The sound is fantastic for its age and the set list is to die for. Thanks to the donor who passed this on to me, it's much appreciated!

01. Tuning
02. Five Minutes
03. Dead Loss Angeles
04. Toiler On The Sea
05. Ugly
06. Burning Up Time
07. Sometimes
08. Straighten Out
09. Dead Ringer
10. Bring On The Nubile
11. Hanging Around
12. No More Heroes
13. Curfew
14. Threatened
15. Dagenham Dave
16. Nice ‘N’ Sleazy
17. Do You Wanna?
18. Death & Night & Blood
19. Tank
20. London Lady
21. Down In The Sewer

1 comment:

  1. I think the gig starts with Ugly and the three tracks before are the encore???
    Thanks anyway! Will download and listen later.. I've never seen this fll set version, just the truncated version...