Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Wednesday, 28 January 2015

The Lurkers The Brook Southampton 28th January 2009

Locating anniversary gigs in the collection for the month of January can be a tough task, it just isn't the best time to tour I suppose as would be punters nurse their wallets after the Christmas financial mugging!

Nevertheless I have managed to dig one out from six years ago. On this night Buzzcocks rolled into Southampton as part of a themed tour in which they ran through not only 'Another Music In A Different Kitchen' but 'Also Love Bites', two stand out albums of the punk era. On the tour they were ably assisted in support by The Lurkers, fronted by Stranglers stalwart Arturo Bassick.

I saw them the following night at The Junction in Cambridge and very enjoyable it was too.

So, here is that Lurkers set for you.


01. I'm On Heat (False Start)
02. I'm On Heat
03. I Don't Need To Tell Her
04. Then I Kicked Her
05. Ready & Loaded
06. Come & Reminisce
07. Pills
08. Too Late To Change
09. Miss World
10. One Day
11. Freak Show
12. New Guitar In Town
13. Go Ahead Punk Make My Day
14. Ain't Got A Clue
15. Shadow
16. Lil’ Ole Wine Drinker Me

Buzzcocks' set and associated artwork will follow.

These sets first appeared on Dime, but have long been removed, so I would like to extend my thanks to the original taper for these great recordings!

1 comment: