Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday 21 September 2014

The Raven Flies Straight To Bordeaux 12th November 1979

This recording has appeared on the site previously, but the rapidshare link is dead, so there's no time like the present to resurrect this one. The band's visit to the French city of Bordeaux on 16th November 1979 give us what is widely considered to be one of the best, if not the best, live recordings of the period.

Take a look at the set for a moment. The band's belief and confidence in the strength of their new material is there for all to see. In a seventeen songs set, no less than eight are included from 'The Raven', make that ten if you include 'The Menhinblack' and 'Don't Bring Harry' that saw the band onto and off the stage (only 'Longships' from the album does not receive an airing here). Again, I think that this is indicative of the risks that The Stranglers were prepared to take with this album. Contrast with the band's 2012 set which showcased the then new album 'Giants' with typically four new songs.



01. Five Minutes
02. Shah Shah A Go Go
03. Ice
04. Down In The Sewer
05. Hanging Around
06. The Raven
07. Dead Loss Angeles
08. Threatened
09. Baroque Bordello
10. Curfew
11. Tank
12. Burning Up Time/Bring On The Nubiles
13. Nuclear Device
14. Genetix
15. Duchess
16. Toiler On The Sea

No comments:

Post a Comment