Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Tuesday, 19 March 2013

20 From '83 The Clash - Out Of Control Demos

The Clash in 1984

In the introductory post to this new themed thread, I mentioned the demise of The Clash after Mick Jones was fired. However, The Clash were soon to regroup around the core of Joe Strummer and Paul Simenon with Nick Sheppard (guitar), Vince White (guitar) and Pete Howerd (drums) completing the line up.

The demos featured here formed the basis of what was to become the 'Cut The Crap' album. It is fair to say that history does not look down very kindly upon this album, but I still maintain that in the single 'This Is England' the band had one of their finest moments. Discuss.

So here then are the 'Out Of Control Demos'. Originally sourced from Thanks to Dave Sez also.


Artwork: In the download file.

Additional details are included in the download file.

01. We Are The Clash
02. In The Pouring Rain
03. Glue Zombie
04. Jericho/Ammunition
05. National Powder
06. Are You Ready For War?
07. Galleani
08. This Is England
09. Rock'n'Roll City
10. The Dictator
11. Out Of Control
12. Sex Mad War
13. Backwoods Drive
14. Three Card Trick


  1. For those hesitating (justifiably) on getting this one: these are not the early 1985 Munich "Cut The Crap" sessions, much overdubbed by Bernie Rhodes with football chants and local session musicians, which Strummer disowned, but rather 1983 London four-track studio sessions by Strummer, Simonon, Sheppard and Howard (Vince White hadn't joined yet) running through the earliest version of the Cut The Crap tracks and more. The last studio recordings of a great band ... go get! Cheers, Dave Sez.

  2. It looks like the link for the zip file is no longer working.