Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 20 May 2012

Madrid 19th May 1978 (Venue Unknown)

Here's another anniversary gig from 34 years ago.

I have included two versions of this gig in the download file. The sound quality differs between the two. Whilst 'Audience 2' is more complete, including 'No More Heroes', the sound is muddier than the 'Audience 1' version which runs to 15 rather than 16 tracks.

Artwork is included for both versions in PDF format so I leave it to you to choose what you will.

Here's some commentary on the recording (courtesy of Dom P):

Clearly from a mixing desk of some kind, it has plenty of background noise, but I've done my best to make it tolerable while bring up all the fabulous detail in the mix.... a stunning balance of all four performers, a killer setlist....sadly starting just at the end of possibly the opening track, Burning Up Time.... they launch into Dag Dave with skill and power and you know instantly they;re on form.... how many heart attacks would we have had after tracks 5-8.... blistering... to hear the whole of Sewer is a dream come true.... a great companion to the Horseshoe gig. And it took place a week to the day after the release of Black and White.

1. Dagenham Dave
2. Bring on the Nubiles
3. Dead Ringer
4. Hanging Around
5. Sometimes
6. Ugly
7. London Lady
8. Down in the Sewer
9. Curfew
10. Tank
11. Nice 'n' Sleazy
12. Threatened
13. Sweden
14. Toiler on the Sea
15. 5 Minutes
16. No More Heroes*

* 'Audience 2' version only. Although I think Dom is correct that these were origionally sourced from the desk.

1 comment:

  1. cheers adrian just downloaded this cant wait to play it