Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 13 May 2012

Hugh Cornwell Spitalkeller Offenburg Germany 9th May 2012

Hugh Cornwell Getting Cerebral
Spitalkeller, Offenburg, Germany
9th May 2012

A soundboard recording of the above gig has been uploaded on to Dime (for the benefit of those with access).

Unfortunately, I am having a few issues with uploading right now, so I cannot oblige. However, I have prepared full artwork for the CD which can be downloaded here.

Edit: Artwork song titles corrected (thanks to Simon Kent)

01 I Feel Like A Wog
02 Totem And Taboo
03 Straighten Out
04 Stuck In Daily Mail Land
05 Bear Cage
06 Phillip K Ridiculous
07 Nuclear Device
08 Delightful Nightmare
09 Hanging Around
10 Love Me Slender
11 Bring On The Nubiles
12 Nerves Of Steel
13 Sweden
14 Banging On At The Same Old Beat
15 London Lady
16 Encore Break
17 Golden Brown
18 Lay Back On Me Pal
19 Goodbye Toulouse


  1. great artwork hope you can sort out the upload

    cheers adrian


  2. Any chance you can upload this gig thanks

  3. looking forward to this one too.

  4. chers for the upload adrian cant wait to hear it