Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Saturday, 18 February 2012

Nagoyashi Kokaido, Nagoya 16th February 1979

Nearly an anniversary post this one. A mere 33 years old last Thursday. A nice sounding recording this from the band's first trip to Japan.

1. Ugly
2. Burning Up Time
3. Sometimes
4. Straighten Out
5. Dead Ringer
6. Bring On The Nubiles
7. Hanging Around
8. No More Heroes
9. Curfew
10. Threatened
11. Nice 'N' Sleazy

Full artwork here (and pdfs are included in the download folder):

The pedants among you may notice the mistake in including the Raven motif on the cover, predating as it does by months the release of that album.

No comments:

Post a Comment