Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 26 February 2012

Birmingham Odeon 23rd February 1985

Here's a reasonable sounding bootleg from the band's second night at the Odeon in Birmingham, early in the Aural Sculpture tour.

1. Something Better Change
2. Nuclear Device
3. Uptown
4. Dead Ringer
5. No Mercy
6. Nice"N"Sleazy
7. Thrown Away
8. Let Me Down Easy
9. Midnight Summer Dream
10.European Female
11.Ships That Pass In The Night
12.Golden Brown
14.Death And Night And Blood
16.Punch And Judy
17.Hanging Around
18.I Feel Like A Wog
19.Down In The Sewer
20.Nubiles (Cocktail Version)
21.Toiler On The Sea

Full artwork here (pdfs are included in the download folder)

1 comment: