Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 6 November 2011

ABC Glasgow 1st November 2007

2007 wound up with something rather special on planet Strangler. To mark the 30th anniversary of a 5 night residency at Camden's Roundhouse (2nd-6th November 1977), the Stranglers took the same set back to the stage with a series of three dates (Glasgow, Manchester with the culmination at the now pristine Roundhouse itself).

Of the three I only made it to the London date (famously beset by technical problems, as seen in the Rattus at the Rounhouse DVD of the event). I am reliably informed though that of the three, it was in Glasgow that the band turned in their best performance.

Judge for yourself.


  1. No More Heroes
  2. Ugly
  3. Bring On The Nubiles
  4. Dead Ringer
  5. Sometimes
  6. Dagenham Dave
  7. Goodbye Toulouse
  8. Hanging Around
  9. Five Minutes
  10. Bitching
  11. Burning Up Time
  12. I Feel Like A Wog
  13. Straighten Out
  14. Something Better Change
  15. London Lady
  16. Peaches
  17. Grip
  18. Go Buddy Go
  19. Spectre Of Love
  20. Unbroken
  21. I Hate You
  22. Relentless
Full artwork here:
(pdfs also included in download file)

No comments:

Post a Comment