Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 6 November 2011

L'Olympia Paris 5th February 2009

This was the first night of the first rerun of the '80s style coach excursion to the continent. For reasons well known to most, this became known as The Wonky Bus Tour, two nights of (mostly) men behaving badly.

The venue booked for the showcase Paris gig was a grand step up from 2007's Parisienne date at La Cigale. For obvious reasons, France has always been a big draw for the Stranglers and French fans have always received them well. Nevertheless, L'Olympia was an ambitious venue for them at this point in their career.

Something of the history of one of Paris's most glamourous venues can be found here. Apparently, JJ was very exited to be treading the same boards as once trodden by the great Edith Piaf.

When the yet to be Wonky Bus spewed out it's human cargo, the British contingent of the night's audience was swelled considerably. Many had already travelled out independently for this gig. We walked into one of the plushest venues I have ever seen any band in. This gig was a presetige date and the band rose to the occasion admirably.This was one of the best post Hugh gigs that I have seen them play.

I hope that you enjoy this cracking boot of that night's performance.

'Take My Hand Disco Man Are You Just A One Night Stand?'

1. Intro
2. Grip/5 Minutes
3. Peaches
4. Nice 'N' Sleazy
5. Spectre Of Love
6. Skin Deep
7. No Mercy
8. Always The Sun
9. Strange Little Girl
10. Golden Brown
11. Raven
12. Thrown Away
13. Walk On By
14. Hanging Around
15. Straighten Out
16. Big Thing Coming
17. All Day And All Of The Night
18. Duchess
19. Tank

1. Talk/Intros (By JJ In French)
2. Nuclear Device
3. Something Better Change
4. Crowd
5. No More Heroes
Full artwork here:
(pdfs also in the download file)

1 comment:

  1. Hi Mate, I don't know if you've heard but Megaupload has been shgut down by the yanks. It's just been on the news. I just thought I'd let you knopw seen as most of your downloads use that site. (BH)