Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 6 November 2011

The Academy, Manchester 26th March 2011

Thanks to Replicant and LaidBlack

Please be directed to the Two Sunspots site for this 2011 gig from the Black & Blue tour.

Attention, the band are listening! More set changes and some welcome surprises, not to mention a new track.

  1. Waltzinblack
  2. I Feel Like A Wog
  3. Was It You?
  4. Peaches
  5. Grip
  6. Freedom Is Insane
  7. Always The Sun
  8. Golden Brown
  9. Nice 'N' Sleazy
  10. Baroque Bordello
  11. Tramp
  12. 5 Minutes
  13. Never To Look Back
  14. Two Sunspots
  15. Dead Loss Angeles
  16. Threatened
  17. Something Better Change
  18. Sweden
  19. Relentless
  20. Nuclear Device
  21. Hanging Around
  22. Duchess
  23. All Day And All Of The Night
  24. No More Heroes
Only criticism, the absence of The Man They Love to Hate, rehearsed but dropped it appears. Next time.... NAIL IT!

P.S. I would welcome a recording of the Glasgow gig on this tour. I was in the area, but only heard it from afar!

1 comment:

  1. Thanks very much for the amazing gigs posted here and for the work that goes into this wonderful blog its very much appreciated