Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Saturday, 7 May 2022

Ruts DC Music Hall Aberdeen 27th January 2022


Following on from the main act, here's the set from Ruts DC who surely must be right up there as one of the best and most consistent bands to open for The Stranglers. The only problem with a Ruts DC support set is that they are too bloody short. At the risk of uttering contentious statements I think that perhaps it would have been an idea to cut The Stranglers stage time down by 20 minutes to allow Ruts DC to get three or four extra songs in. After all it's not often that such a strong line up comes along.

Music Hall, Aberdeen
27th January 2022

Ruts DC are nothing if not prolific, they refuse to stand still and rely on past glories, and so it was fitting that this set featured a new song 'Born Innocent' which soundwise reminds me of 'Animal Now' era material. Thanks to the original taper and uploader.

Get out to see the band on their own tour in October.


Artwork Sleeve:

01. Intro
02. Something That I Said
03. S.U.S.
04. You're Just A...
05. It Was Cold
06. Kill The Pain
07. West One (Shine On Me)
08. Born Innocent
09. Jah War
10. Staring At The Rude Boys
11. In A Rut
12. Babylon's Burning
13. Psychic Attack

1 comment:

  1. My recording , originally posted on