Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 17 April 2022

20 From '81 (2) The Clash Jaap Edenhal Amsterdam 10th May 1981


Well I mentioned The Clash so I may as well add them into this theme. This is an excellent remastering of a radio show that was rebroadcast in 2008. Many thanks to the original Dime uploader and to the person responsible for the remaster (see file notes for details). 'Sandinista!' had been released at the end of 1980 and The Clash took it on tour the following year. This is one of those shows. Say what you will of 'Sandinista!' and many do, but there is something brave about a 'punk' band going so against the grain and releasing a triple album. The Clash should be applauded for experimenting with the presentation of their music even if conceding that the album probably runs to two sides too many. The album does have some amazing tracks... 'Somebody Got Murdered' and 'Rebel Waltz' are two of my favourite songs by the band.

Anyway, it is what it is.... make your own mind up.


Artwork (Sleeve and CD format):

01. London Calling
02. The Leader
03. Somebody Got Murdered
04. White Man in Hammersmith Palais
05. The Guns of Brixton
06. Lightning Strikes (Not Once But Twice)
07. Ivan Meets G.I. Joe
08. This Is Radio Clash
09. Charlie Don't Surf
10. The Magnificent Seven
11. Bankrobber
12. Train in Vain
13. Career Opportunities
14. Clampdown
15. One More Time
16. I Fought the Law

1 comment:

  1. Hey, any more stranglers posts coming out soon? Thanks