Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Monday 6 May 2019

Ian Dury & The Blockheads 5th May 1978

Artwork may have the date wrong again but here's a great set from the Blockheads in Sussex in 1978!



01. Upminster Kid (Including Introduction By Kosmo Vinyl)
02. Wake Up And Make Love With Me
03. Clever Trevor
04. Sweet Gene Vincent
05. If I Was With A Woman
06. You're More Than Fair
07. Billericay Dickie
08. Plaistow Patricia
09. I Made Mary Cry
10. What A Waste
11. Blockheads (Including Band Introductions)
12. Sex And Drugs And Rock And Roll
13. My Old Man
14. England's Glory
15. Sex And Drugs And Rock And Roll (Reprise)

Ian Dury: Vocals
Mickey Gallagher: Keyboards
Davey Payne: Saxophone
Charlie Charles: Drums
Norman Watt-Roy: Bass
John Turnbull: Guitar

No comments:

Post a Comment