Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Saturday 16 February 2019

Nagoyashi Kokaido Nagoya Japan 16th February 1979

I had forgotten how good this was! Last posted in February 2012 here it is again dusted down on its 40th birthday no less!



01. Ugly
02. Burning Up Time
03. Sometimes
04. Straighten Out
05. Dead Ringer
06. Bring On The Nubiles
07. Hanging Around
08. No More Heroes
09. Curfew
10. Threatened
11. Nice 'N' Sleazy


  1. Hugh's intro to Straighten Out is hilarious...still makes me laugh

  2. Hugh is certainly a bit lost with his lyrics from time to time but makes it up in the end : ‘RICE ‘n sleazy’ :-)