Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Monday, 17 November 2014

Alternative Sculpture....... The Rejected Rough LP

To coincide with the great piece on the official site that tells the fascinating story of the creation of the 'Aural Sculpture' album and the inter-band tensions that shaped its construction, Here in FLAC  (and MP3) format are the original demos that were laid down prior to the involvement of Laurie Latham.

I have always held the view that some of the best material that came out of the Aural Sculpture sessions were consigned to B-side status and of those one or two of these demo tracks should have made the final cut of the album proper.

Thanks to all of those involved in the preparation of these demos for the enjoyment of all. They have long been doing the rounds but never before with this sound quality.

'Behold... The Stranglers Bring You Alternative Sculpture'.

01. Hitman
02. North Winds
03. Achilles Heel
04. Skin Deep
05. Punch And Judy
06. Here and There
07. Shakin’ Like A Leaf
08. Head On The Line
09. In One Door
10. The Beast
11. Souls
12. Hot Club




Many thanks to MeAnIe and Dom P.


  1. Thank you for this great archive. The sound is very good, A big surprise to hear the sound without brass arrangement, and HERE AND THERE without the female voice (Dagmar Kreuze)