Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 9 October 2011

Cambridge Junction 5th October 2006

Ok, I have calmed down now, so back to matters in hand. With Guilfest some months in the past, there followed the Suite XVI UK tour. I'm not mad about gigs in Cambridge, but they are a bit of a home game for me and for some reason, the promoters had plumped for the much smaller Junction venue. I love this place, it is intimate and so much more preferable to the sterile barn that is the Corn Exchange.

This was an opportunity to hear the new material, Unbroken, Sommat Owtanowt and Spectre of Love.... a new single! I loved this gig as it reinforced the feelings that I had in Guilford in the summer. The band were on great form and really appeared to be enjoying themselves on stage. The contrast with the last time I had seen the band as a headline act (as opposed to a festival appearance) could not have been starker! By coincidence, this was in the aforementioned Corn Exchange in 1998, when the band's performance was lacklustre and decidedly disinterested.

Very listenable this one.

1. Intro
2. 5 Minutes
3. (Get A) Grip (on Yourself)
4. Spectre Of Love
5. Nice n Sleazy
6. Death & Night & Blood
7. Unbroken
8. Peaches
9. Always The Sun
10. Golden Brown
11. I Hate You
12. Lost Control
13. Summat Outanowt
14. Walk On By
15. Relentless

1. Threatened
2. Burning Up Time
3. All Day & All Of The Night
4. Thrown Away
5. Duchess
6. London Lady
7. Nuclear Device
8. Dagenham Dave
9. No More Heroes

Full artwork here (pdfs also included in download file):


  1. Hi Adrian thanks for another great gig.

  2. Great stuff again, thanks Adrian.

  3. Hi Adrian, no idea why but most times when I try to post the blogger page chucks a tanty and I lose patience so don't think that your efforts are unappreciated, even when I do get the opportunity to comment it comes up as anonymous (as above). Keep the great up cheers

  4. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as บาคาร่าออนไลน์ though you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you บาคาร่า could be giving us something enlightening to read?