Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Sunday, 11 September 2016

De Velinx Tongeren 24th October 2002

I noted the other day that on one of the many Stranglers related Facebook pages, someone had opened up, or at least attempted to open up, the Paul/Baz 'who's better, who's best?' debate. Surprisingly people still bite at these discussions, but no new opinions or insights are offered... because there are none.

Anyway, here is an early foray into exploring the band's back catalogue in an acoustic setting.

MP3 (As received):

01. Walk On By
02. Let Me Down Easy
03. Strange Little Girl
04. Instead Of This
05. English Towns
06. European Female
07. Southern Mountains
08. Face
09. Cruel Garden
10. Always The Sun
11. Sanfte Kiss
12. Sinister
13. In The End
14. Still Life
15. Princess Of The Streets
16. Golden Brown
17. Old Codger
18. No More Heroes

No comments:

Post a Comment