Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Tuesday 2 November 2021

Brixton Academy 24th February 1990


In the process of consolidating my CD collection I checked the status of this one on the Aural Sculptors site and noted that it had only previously been shared in MP3 format. So here then is the lossless version complete with slimline revamped artwork. 

The date was rescheduled from an earlier planned date in late 1989. As I recall this was down to delays with finishing of the '10' album. I think that it was this date that went ahead in preference to an anti-poll tax meeting at Brixton Town Hall. I guess the Metropolitan Police were wary of the fact that there was a potential ready made, 4,000 strong mob in the immediate vicinity that could be problematic in the event that the meeting became ugly. As I recall Hugh made reference to this fact from the stage on the night.



01. Shah Shah A Go Go
02. I Feel Like A Wog
03. Straighten Out
04. Shakin’ Like A Leaf
05. 96 Tears
06. Someone Like You
07. Sweet Smell Of Success
08. Always The Sun
09. Ships That Pass In The Night
10. Peaches
11. Where I Live
12. School Mam
13. Let’s Celebrate
14. Tank

01. Uptown
02. Was It You?
03. Down In The Sewer
04. Golden Brown
05. Walk On By
06. Strange Little Girl
07. All Day & All Of The Night
08. (Get A) Grip (On Yourself)
09. Nuclear Device
10. The Raven
11. Duchess
12. Punch & Judy

1 comment: