Aural Sculptors - The Stranglers Live 1976 to the Present

Welcome to Aural Sculptors, a blog aimed at bringing the music of The Stranglers to as wide an audience as possible. Whilst all of the various members of the band that have passed through the ranks since 1974 are accomplished studio musicians, it is on stage where the band have for me had their biggest impact.

As a collector of their live recordings for many years I want to share some of the better quality material with other fans. By selecting the higher quality recordings I hope to present The Stranglers in the best possible light for the benefit of those less familiar with their material than the hardcore fan.

Needless to say, this site will steer well clear of any officially released material. As well as live gigs, I will post demos, radio interviews and anything else that I feel may be of interest.

In addition, occasionally I will post material by other bands, related or otherwise, that mean a lot to me.

Your comments and/or contributions are most welcome. Please email me at

Friday, 8 July 2011

The Stone San Fransisco 9th May 1981

The US campaign continues. An excellent set from the West Coast. Not much else to say on this one other than that as much as I love my The Stranglers as my punk band, this is the period that I would have most liked to have first seen them... and to those friends that did..... I hate you all!


1. Intro
2. Threatened
3. The Raven
4. Toiler On The Sea
5. Just Like Nothing On Earth
6. Thrown Away
7. Who Wants The World
8. Baroque Bordello
9. Second Coming
10. Meninblack
11. Shah Shah A Go Go
12. Hallow To Our Men
13. Tank
14. Nuclear Device
15. Genetix
16. Duchess
17. Hanging Around

1 comment:

  1. So where is JJ's Girl From The Snow Country ?